The Curriculum

At Ottery St Mary Primary school we:

· Support children to explore the world through engaging topics. We find opportunities in the curriculum to inspire learning and we develop sequences of lessons to take children on a learning journey

· Offer a broad and balanced curriculum that challenges children to find out more about the world around them, to find out what works and what doesn’t and to understand their own learning and where it will take them

· Teach children how to learn through acquiring knowledge, making mistakes, developing skills, talking with others and through tangible learning experiences and purposeful play


The National Curriculum

In Key Stages 1 and 2 (years 1-6) we teach the National Curriculum. Click here to view.

The subjects covered in the Primary National Curriculum are English, Mathematics, Science, Art, Design and Technology, History, Geography, Music, Physical Education and Computing.

In KS2 children also study a Foreign Language which in our school if French.

Religious Education is a statutory subject and is taught throughout the school from Foundation to Year 6.

Subjects are often woven together into imaginative topics. Through these topics, we develop an enriched curriculum based on learning experiences and higher level thinking skills. 




The national curriculum provides pupils with an introduction to the essential knowledge that they need to be educated citizens. It introduces pupils to the best that has been thought and said; and helps engender an appreciation of human creativity and achievement.

from the National Curriculum pdf

The Early Years Foundation Stage
In the Foundation Stage, children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).

There are seven areas of learning and development in the EYFS that are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

These three areas, the prime areas, are:
• communication and language
• physical development
• personal, social and emotional development.

Providers must also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:
• literacy
• mathematics
• understanding the world
• expressive arts and design

EYFS Curriculum Delivery: Each area of learning and development is implemented through planned, purposeful play.



There will be regular assessments against the curriculum which will inform teaching and learning.  This will show where children are experiencing greatest success and where extra help and support is needed and will enable us to target our resources most effectively. 

We track children’s attainment across individual units of work in reading, writing, maths and science. 

We also carry out termly assessments which provide us with an age-standardised score for each child in which a score of 100 represents the average.

We track progress alongside attainment throughout the school year.



The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.

from the National Curriculum pdf